Blogging is so easy, it’s making the time to do it that’s difficult. Now it’s been 3 months since my last post and I’ve been up to so much, it’s hard to know where to start. I’ll have to break down my updates into categories, so I’ll start with one that means the most to me right now, Bible study.

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been blessed by discovering Good Morning Girls, an online ministry that provides free Bible study materials throughout the year. I started in 2013 during the Luke study “Loving Like Jesus” and I read the last part of the book of Luke in a way that I’ve never done before. I paid attention. To every little verse and word. When something didn’t quite make sense to me, I would dig deeper (concordances, discussions, and research) until I was satisfied I truly understood what I was reading. Recently, they put out a study with lots of materials, including a kids program, for Advent. I wanted to share this with whoever else may find it useful, so I put a couple invitations on Facebook that if anyone was interested, I would host a small group online. The response was great and before I knew it, we had about 15 members, and we dove into the Word of God. Having the kids involved was amazing as well, and they would expect the evening devotional and craft every night, as we discussed why we were doing what we were doing. For the next study which starts in January, I am hoping to officially register as a leader so I can be more effective in leading our small group.

Which leads me to now – the gap between studies. Without a set program, I tend not to be as faithful. I need to make it a priority, because when I do, I get so much out of it. I am also picking up a second study in January, which focuses on figuring why we crave, and instead of craving for earthly things like food, craving for God to fill our voids. The book we are using is Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst. I’ll let you know what I think of it as I progress 🙂 This study is hosted by Proverbs 31 Ministries.

I recently completed my first Proverbs 31 study and it was amazing. The book was A Confident Heart by Renee Swope and at first I was skeptical. I didn’t really struggle with confidence, did I? Was this some self-help Christian book? Not at all. About the the third chapter in, I started to discover things about myself that I never realized before. I was holding myself back from trying new things, or talking to new people, because it was easy to say I don’t have that personality and it’s not within my comfort zone. Which reminded me of a quote I once heard “God did not call us to be comfortable”. Our first and foremost calling in life is not as a mother. Not even as a wife. It is as a Child of God. Am I missing all the potential He has given me by not paying attention to everything He has put in front of me? The parable of talents was focused on a couple times throughout the book, and I couldn’t help but feel like God was awakening me to realize I cannot bury my talents and make up excuses. I need to use them to multiply the work Jesus started. How? I’m still not sure.

I’m on a journey. Stay tuned.

paths

