I do indeed have a blog and I admit, I don’t think about it too often. I have tons of ideas for blog posts, updates I want to share with family and friends, and somehow never make the time to just sit here and do it. So here I am. Today will be a boring update and hopefully I’ll have more interesting things to say soon.

Recently I finished a women’s devotional “Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be” by Donna Partow. The title spoke to me. This is exactly what I work towards and try to find ways to be the woman God wants me to be. The devotional was great and I do recommend it. I loved the scripture-based prayers, practical advice, and how she would focus on a different aspect of real life every week. Everything from relationships to fitness to fashion – what does God want our choices to be? I struggle with some of the implementation of her advice, but that’s part of being human and all I can do is try harder the next day.

As a family, we are doing well. Ryan and I are committing to healthier living (yes, again) and so far, so good. This week I am trying a bunch of new recipes and most have turned out incredible (thanks to Canadian Living magazine for all the great ideas, September issue). I have started working out in the evenings as well using the Wii Fit (with curtains tightly drawn so I don’t scare the neighbours).

The girls are good. Kaitlyn is excited to be starting grade two in two weeks and Meagan will be in Preschool 4 this year. Meagan gave us a bit of a scare this past week when a stomach virus and infection ended her in the ER for a day. She’s back to her normal, troublesome, noisy self now 😉

Work is good. I applied for an opportunity I thought I wanted, didn’t get it, and realized I am quite content where I am. So I decided not to apply for a subsequent opportunity. There is some uncertainty how long I will be in my current position as I am covering for someone on mat leave, but ideally, it would be great to stay where I am. I am close to home, get more time off (which translates to more time with my family), better benefits and pay, and have greater flexibility as far as choosing vacation time. There are other opportunities that are coming up and I will prayerfully consider them all, but I have to do what is best for my family and that will be the major factor when I consider anything that comes up. But even as I re-read this paragraph, I know I am struggling with being “content” where I am, and is that holding me back? Am I not challenging myself enough to pursue every opportunity that comes along? Or is it exactly as I’ve put – this job is a good fit for balancing family and work?

I’ll leave with a moment of clarification I had recently. I overthink everything. Maybe I should do this? If I do this, what will happen with this? Or this? Or that? At work, I usually have Praise 106 playing on my computer and heard this text as I was definitely overthinking the work/family balance: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Prov 3: 5-6). Let go and let God. Yeah, I need to work on that.

stop-thinking

