Yes, a blog post. It’s quite an accomplishment, but I really do want to get back into it. Had to first remember my password, but password recovered, and here I am.

We had a nice, quiet New Year’s with our little family. Meagan has been battling some nightmares where she says there is a “scary guy” in her room so bedtime has been a challenge. With that in mind, we didn’t really want to go out, but wanted to keep with routine as it seems she is gradually getting better again. So Meagan was off to bed at 7PM, Kaitlyn snuggled in our bed with a Barbie movie, and we settled in the living room with some appies, wine, and TV. We watched Rev. Pol’s New Year’s message via the website and watched a funny movie which we haven’t watched in years. It really was a great evening, and I wouldn’t have spent it any other way.

2012 has been so good to us. Ryan is doing well with his new job at UFV, getting some education done which I know has been a longing for him for some years. Kaitlyn is thriving in Grade One, loves her school, friends, and her teacher, “Miss”. Meagan is doing very well in preschool at Highroad and asks every morning if she gets to go to school (it’s only 2 mornings a week but she does well with the disappointment it’s not every day). Her speech is improving and it is getting easier to understand what she is trying to say without her big sister interpreter. She is potty trained and in a big girl bed – definitely not our little baby anymore! I am doing well with balancing motherhood, wife and working full-time, so long as I keep my B12 shots on schedule, I manage to continue on. I am looking forward to new opportunities at work in 2013 as a Scheduler, which will hopefully start soon for a one-year temp assignment. The job allows me to have some more family time, and challenges me mentally. I am enjoying reading a lot more this year than I usually do, having stumbled upon the “Redemption” series from Karen Kingsbury, and am now continuing with the “Firstborn” series. I know they are both a few years old, but like I said, I’ve never been much of a reader. Rarely does a book series such as “Redemption” actually speak to a reader the way it has to me. I’ve also discovered some enjoyment in baking, and try to find time to do meal planning when I can.

We are looking forward to 2013 and enjoying another year together as a very blessed family. So many constant reminders in 2012 how fragile this life really is – including a close call on New Year’s Eve where the minivan behind me was hit by a drunk driver. Thankfully everyone inside was shook up but okay, but the mom started sobbing when she saw the back-end and realized what could have happened if her children had been sitting in the backseat instead of the front. The drunk driver had hit her minivan so hard, the vehicle was completed crushed in from the trunk past the backseat, back window and both right side windows were blown out. A lot of “what ifs” in the accident, but thankfully the Lord kept everyone safe in His hands.

So, the family is calling and it is time to sign off. Hopefully for not too long. Have a wonderful 2013 everyone!

